La Porte City Iowa FFA Historical and Ag Museum
The FFA Historical and Ag Museum was founded in 1970 by the La Porte City FFA (Future Famers of America) Chapter. The Museum originally was located in the fire station and jailhouse that now are part of the Rural Iowa Heritage Center on Chestnut Street.
The location on Main Street was purchased in 2001, and now is the main home of the Museum. Since its original construction for Hilmer Shull Auto Supply in 1914, the building has served many purposes, including that of an automobile dealership, feed store and lumber store. It now houses more than 8,000 square feet of display space, showcasing annually updated exhibits and events that celebrate the stories of our nation's people, places and progress.
Our mission is to encourage an appreciation and interest in the history, art, and culture of our community state.